gallery Sheila Robinson illustrations

bbc-booklet-1

The Taft Hotel blog is back, with some beautiful vintage illustrations by artist Sheila Robinson.

This booklet of music and lyrics accompanied a BBC radio series for children in the 1960s. I found it in a drawer in my parents’ house, along with a pile of my school exercise books.

I wasn’t born until the autumn tern of 1963, so I’m guessing these broadcasts were still going on when I was at primary school in the early 70s. The booklet is in very good condition, which probably reflects my lack of interest in playing music.

bbc-booklet-2

As a fan of mid-century illustration, I’m sorry that I wasn’t aware of Sheila Robinson or her work until today. Thanks to Google, I now know that she was married to artist and printmaker Bernard Cheese and was the mother of illustrator and printmaker Chloe Cheese. A very talented family. Sheila died in 1988.bbc-booklet-3-jpg

 

Sheila Robinson and Bernard Cheese were among the group of artists – notably Edward Bawden and Eric Ravilious – who lived and worked in Great Bardfield, Essex during the middle of the 20th century.

bbc-booklet-4

According to the Fry Art Gallery website, Sheila Robinson seems to have been equally brilliant at book illustration and evocative scenes of English landscapes and towns. She was obviously a lover of cats.

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

